Celebrate What’s Right with the World

As I return from a few days enjoying northern Michigan I was pleased to see that I received an email from my friend Pete Emhoff that simply read: You will not want to miss this. Takes 20 minutes, but is worth it. http://www.celebratetraining.com

When Pete talks/writes, I listen.

So I settled into one of my mobile offices, Uptown Coffeehouse, yesterday afternoon. The header of the site intrigued me – Celebrate What’s Right with the World. I plugged in my headphones, and hit “play.” What I experienced in the twenty or so minutes left me both speechless and inspired.

I wasn’t prepared for the message of James DeWitt, a photographer for National Geographic. He is a teacher at heart: vulnerable, artistic, and passionate. His message is simple: make the choice – in every moment – to celebrate what’s right with the world.

Before you chalk this up as some cheesy-touchy-feely piece, hear me out. This isn’t like the emails I get with PowerPoint synthesized music and clip art. This is a genuine, professional done PREVIEW of a lengthy work designed to inspire and educate. And because I enjoy learning I took three pages of notes (I know, not a surprise!).

DeWitt identifies the conflict with adapting the approach he proposes; citing that it is easy to succumb to the mentality of fear, scarcity, and competition. On the other hand, if we choose to celebrate and see the beauty and possibilities in every situation it will transform us.

So here’s the teaser or for some of you who may not take the time to view his work, the point he is seeking to make:

If we celebrate what is right in the world it will change our vision:

  • It will keep us open to possibilities
  • It will give us energy and connect us with our passion
  • It will make us more accepting of change

You might guess that I identified with the message celebrate what’s right with the world.  It reminds me of a first century well-educated Jewish leader who debated with the philosophers of Mars Hill and wrote encouraging letters to people around the world. Here’s what he wrote, “Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”

If you take the time to watch the piece, leave a comment and let me know what you think.

This entry was posted in Change, Intentionality, Motivation, Personal Development, Transformation. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Celebrate What’s Right with the World

  1. Undoubtedly, one of the best article l have come across on this precious topic. I quite agree with your conclusions and will eagerly look forward to your coming updates.

Leave a Reply

