More Thoughts on “Blessing”

I’ve been giving more thought to this whole idea of savoring blessings. Today, I remembered that one of the most significant books in my life had a section on “blessing.” After reading it, I wanted to share with you a slice of this masterpiece. So, in an effort to bless you, here’s…

…more on being blessed by Henri Nouwen:

I am increasingly aware of how much we fearful, anxious, insecure human beings are in need of a blessing. Children need to be blessed by their parents, and parents by their children. We all need each other’s blessing – masters and disciples, rabbis and students, bishops and priests, doctors and patients.

Let me first tell you what I mean by the word “blessing.” In Latin, to bless is benedicere. The word “benediction” that is used in many churches means literally: speaking (dictio) well (bene) or saying good things of someone. That speaks to me. I need to hear good things said of me, and know how much you have the same need.

To give someone a blessing is the most significant affirmation we can offer. It is more than a word of praise or appreciation; it is more than pointing out someone’s talents or good deeds; it is more than putting someone in the light. To give a blessing is to affirm, to say “yes” to a person’s Belovedness. And more than that: to give blessing creates the reality of which it speaks.

from Life of the Beloved

What if…we intentionally looked for ways to truly bless people?

This entry was posted in Blessing, Intentionality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

