Elizabeth Edwards’ Gift (Just Weeks Ago)

What I will remember about Elizabeth Edwards is the gift she gave me less than nine weeks ago at the Livingston Economic Club, held at Cleary University in Howell, MI. I was privileged to be in attendance and even meet her in a small reception prior to her speech. I think it’s her last public speaking engagement.  

Video clip of her speech 

She was gracious and kind. Her words, on stage and in face-t0-face had the depth of someone who understood that life on this side of the veil was short. She admitted that even though she stayed the night before right next to Tanger Outlet Mall, shopping did not hold the same appeal. She was honest and forthright.

What was most enduring was her calm and sensitive spirit. You could see it in her smile, sense it in words, and even as she signed dozens and dozens of autographs after her speech. She looked every person in the eye and smiled with radiancy. Virtually depleted, she mustered enough strength for the moment. I spent minutes just watching her interact.

The last posting on her Facebook page reflected her enduring spirit,

“I have found that in the simple act of living with hope, and in the daily effort to have a positive impact in the world, the days I do have are made all the more meaningful and precious.”

I was given a gift on October 7, 2010. I think I appreciate it even more today.

This entry was posted in Blessing, Motivation, Story (Narrative). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

