“Look Within” – Lesson from Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

“The words I spoke to God that midnight are still vivid in my memory:

I am here taking a stand for what I believe is right. But now I am afraid. The people are looking to me for leadership, and if I stand before them without strength and courage, they too will falter . . .

“Almost at once my fears began to pass from me. My uncertainty disappeared. I was ready to face anything. The outer situation remained the same, but God had given me inner calm . . . I knew that God is able to give us the interior resources to face the storms and problems of life.”

from A Testament of Hope: The Essential Writings and Speeches of Martin Luther King, Jr. (J. M. Washington, ed.) [1968, 1996, p. 509]
This entry was posted in Surrender, Transformation. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Look Within” – Lesson from Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

  1. Wow… powerful post. Thanks for sharing it. I particularly appreciated the line … “I knew that God is able to give us the interior resources to face the storms and problems of life.” I think this is definitely something to always keep top of mind and will help you have the right mindset regardless of whatever it is that is coming your way. Thanks for sharing it.

    • Mark says:

      I’m finding the words of Dr. King more inspirational every time I read them. At one point he said the majority of the people in our world are “externally driven.” A bold statement. Yet, he had commendable insight and provided an example to follow.

Leave a Reply

